Book Review! Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

First of all, I apologize for not posting for so long! School is a pain. And I’m lazy. I also have a bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips sitting on my desk. The effects of which… well my hands are shaking. I should probably stop eating them…

So for Christmas, I got a LOT of books. I got the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull (who just happens to be my favorite author), the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare, and the Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan. I had already read the Lightning Thief when I borrowed it from a friend of mine. It was great! But since I have the Sea of Monsters fresh in my brain, I will do a review on that one.

So without further ado, I give you…

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters – Rick Riordan

percyjacksonseaofmonstersbookcover

After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson finds his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson-a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any “normal” friends.

But things don’t stay quiet for long. Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders which protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner by the Cyclops Polyphemus on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia-only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name the Bermuda Triangle.

Now Percy and his friends-Grover, Annabeth, and Tyson-must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes by the end of the summer or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family-one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon’s son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.*

First of all, I thought that the Lightning Thief was pretty amazing, so I started reading this book with high expectations… and my expectations were met! I really enjoyed this book. It’s going to be hard to express how great this book is… Here goes!

There are a lot of things I love about this book, but the thing I love most of all is the POV Riordan uses. It feels like Percy is personally telling you the story. 

The story itself is really interesting. The general idea behind all of the books, children of the Greek gods all in one place, is great. I loved that they all had  ADD/ADHD and/or dyslexia. It’s just one of those quirks in books that you just have to love. It’s unique. It’s also appealing to me since I have ADD.  

Tyson was a great character. He’s one of those people that seems like he has an old soul. In fact, I loved a lot of the characters. Though some of them were from  the original book…

Annabeth is just awesome. I love a good strong female character. She’s smart, and sarcastic, and kind of reminds me of, well… me.

I really like how Riordan writes Clarisse.  She’s kind of like the popular girl that no one really likes, except she’s kind of likeable. She has a good heart, yet she’s kind of callous.

Riordan gives the Bermuda Triangle more meaning. It was no longer just a mysterious area in the ocean. It was where Charybdis and Scylla lived, and gave entrance to the sea of monsters. I love when writers take a real mystery, and give it meaning for something in their book.

There are probably a lot more things I could include in this, but I’m getting my sugar crash from all those chocolate chips…  And I’m writing this at 11:30 at night… So good night my friends! I hope this review was helpful! You can read a lot more reviews and buy the book here

To Camp Half-Blood!

-Emma

 

*review provided by amazon.com

~ by emmathereselane on January 14, 2014.

Leave a comment