Writing Something You’ve Never Experienced Before

Ah! The whole month has passed by and I haven’t posted! Oops…

Have you ever hated someone so much that every time you thought of that person, you cringed? Neither have I. So how do write these feeling in books? The answer is simple. Imagination.

Imagination is a writer’s most important tool. I’ve never been to France, I don’t live near the woods (depressing right?), and I’ve never spoken another language. These are all elements that have been or will be included in my novels. So I research and I imagine. I research France, woods, other languages, and then I put my own spin on things. I imagine a secret world beneath the streets of France, fairies and elves living in the woods, and a language of my own creation.

See? You don’t need to experience something to use it in a novel. I could live on a deserted island with just books and internet access and I could write a story that’s set in Venice. There is a quote from Albert Einstein that I love. “Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”

Imagining…

–Emma

~ by emmathereselane on September 24, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
