Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Another book review!

Ella Enchanted is one of my favorite books! Written by Gail Carson Levine (one of my favorite authors!) it’s a new, interesting take on Cinderella.

Synopsis:

How can a fairy’s blessing be such a curse?

At her birth, Ella of Frell was given a foolish fairy’s gift—the “gift” of obedience. Ella must obey any order given to her, whether it’s hopping on one foot for a day or chopping off her own head!

But strong-willed Ella does not tamely accept her fate. She goes on a quest, encountering ogres, giants, wicked stepsisters, fairy godmothers, and handsome princes, determined to break the curse—and live happily ever after.*

My Review:

I love the twist Gail Carson Levine puts on Cinderella! I always hated  Cinderella a little bit because she was such a goody two shoes. GCL gives Ella a rebellious nature, but also give her no choice but to follow the commands. Ella seems like a real person.

I can’t find any words that would do this book justice… I can say that it’s amazing, well written, and one of my most favorite books of all time, but that tells you nothing about the book! So I will say this:

Gail Carson Levine creates a world of magic, monsters, fairies, and elves. She puts a brand new twist on a classic story. I get pulled into this book every time I read it! She writes the love story in this book really well, and it fits into the story without totally taking over the book (though it is a major component). The only way you can truly get a taste of this book is to read it for yourself.

The movie. Nothing like the book. I like the movie, it’s entertaining. But I enjoy the book so much better! I love the story line better, the ending, everything about it.

I hope you love this book as much as I do!

Have a book you want me to review? Post the name and author in the comments below or click on the Contact Me page for my email address.

Reading…

-Emma

*synopsis provided by amazon.com

 

~ by emmathereselane on September 4, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
