The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Aaaah! I just realized that I’ve yet to put a book review on here! So here’s a book review! The movie came out a couple of days ago and I’ve recently read the book, and it was amazing!

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Synopsis:

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder—much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing—not even a smear of blood—to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…*

My Review:

So this was an amazing book! It was well written, and an exciting read. It was also a very original story! I love the idea of a whole world hiding just under our nose! The book starts out interestingly, and it jumps right into the story! It’s an on the edge of your seat thrill ride!

I was suspecting a strong female main character (Clary), but I was a little disappointed. I found that most of the time she just hid in the corner and just let Jace and the other Shadowhunters do the work.

Isabelle did dress a little on the inappropriate side, short dresses and low cut shirts. Clary does wear some of these clothes when she has no other clothes available and when she has to go to a party to get information.

I thought that some of the content was a little unnecessary, such as the sexual orientation of two certain characters. I thought it took away from the plot, but it did add a sense of urgency since one of them wants to keep it a secret.

I was never one to jump on the Twilight wagon, and I was a little hesitant when reading the part that had, what do you know, both vampires and werewolves, and as usual, they are mortal enemies! But Cassandra Clare was successful in writing this part! I didn’t see many cliches in that scene (the only scene in the book where the vampires and werewolves interact directly).

And then there’s Jace and Clary… Okay. This was a bit of a cliche, but how she ended it! Wow! The farthest Jace and Clary go is kissing. But then the situation gets a little awkward… We find out that Simon likes Clary (well, duh!) and he just caught them kissing! But then comes the twist! Which I won’t tell you because it’ll spoil the book a bit. But wow! I still can’t decide if it’s true or not. I guess I’ll just have to read the next book!

I definitely don’t want to spoil the book for you guys, so I’ll finish off by saying that this is an amazing book, but it’s definitely for a bit older readers. (13+)

Have a book you want me to review? Leave the name and author in the comments or email me! You can find my email under the ‘Contact Me’ tab.

Reading…

-Emma

*Synopsis provided by Amazon

~ by emmathereselane on August 29, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
