The Opening Line

     Last post, I talked about the title. Now I’m talking about something just as important; the opening line. The title does part of the job of getting the attention of the reader. The opening line captivates the reader even more. The opening line is the most important sentence in a book. Here are some of my favorite opening lines:

“It was my aunt who decided to give me to the dragon.” Dragon Slippers ~ Jessica Day George

“That fool of a fairy Lucinda did not intend to lay a curse on me.” Ella Enchanted ~  Gail Carson Levine

“The dungeon was a miserable place.” The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell ~ Chris Colfer

These aren’t the half of it! There are so many amazing opening lines! Find the best ones and then send them to me. I’d love to read them.

Reading it….

-Emma

~ by emmathereselane on July 23, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
